2017 Presenters- many returning for 2018

Chris Amundson– Lead teacher of the new STEM school within the Sparta Area School District.

Laurel Brandt– Licensed pilot, retired teacher from the Sparta Area School District who taught mathematics, computer programming, and aerospace science, and Museum Ex Officio member.

Mike Clatworthy- Regional Sales Manager for Multistack Corporation, with Bachelor’s degrees in industrial engineering and accounting. 

Lynn Edwards-Food and Nutrition Supervisor at Mayo Clinic Health System Franciscan Healthcare Sparta, WI.

Alli KarrelsDirector of the Deke Slayton Museum, with a Bachelor’s degree in art and history, and a Masters degree in museums studies and nonprofit management from Johns Hopkins University.

Mark Lee– Retired NASA Astronaut, with a Master’s of engineering from MIT, completed 4 successful space shuttle missions.

Oakley Moser– Teacher of physics, digital electronics, and AP physics at the Tomah Area School District with a Bachelor’s degree in mathematics and physics. 

Karen Nyberg- NASA Astronaut and Mission Specialist, with a PhD in mechanical engineering and has completed successful missions to the International Space Station.

Michael Purucker- NASA Planetary Magnetosphere Lab chief, Solar System Exploration Division, Goddard Space Flight Center.

Larry Scheckel– Retired physics teacher with the Tomah Area School District with a Master’s degree. Known as “Mr. Science” and is famous for the hundreds of science presentations he’s done over the years.  Also a Deke Slayton Museum board member.

Amy Schreiber- Youth services librarian at the Sparta Free Library.

Dave Schroeder– Retired CEO of Ace Telephone, retired from the Army Reserve as a Senior Military Instructor, expertise in communication.

Toni Wissestad –Associate Professor of Nursing at Viterbo University in La Crosse, WI with a Doctorate. Former Monroe County, Wisconsin Medical Examiner.

Alyssa Young –Administrative Assistant at the Deke Slayton Museum. Bachelor’s degree in music education from Luther College. 

       *List of presenters is subject to change without notice.