Deke Slayton Space Week Presenters

Chris Amundson– Lead teacher at the STEM school within the Sparta Area School District.

Laurel Brandt– Licensed pilot; retired teacher from the Sparta Area School District who taught mathematics, computer programming, and aerospace science; museum board member.

Dr. Simon Gilroy– Professor of Botany at UW Madison, working with NASA on plant growth on the International Space Station.

Dr. Dawn Kopacz- Professor of Practice in Meteorology and Climate, Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

Mark Lee– Retired NASA Astronaut, with a Master’s of engineering from MIT, completed 4 successful space shuttle missions.

Oakley Moser– Teacher of physics, digital electronics, and AP physics at the Tomah Area School District.

Cheyenne Puetz- Youth services librarian at the Sparta Free Library.

Larry Scheckel– Retired physics teacher with the Tomah Area School District, known as “Mr. Science” and is famous for the hundreds of science presentations he’s done over the years, Deke Slayton Museum board member.

Kathy Sullivan– Former astronaut, member of the class of 1978 that included the first women and minorities, first American woman to do a space walk.

Paige Whittington– current NASA aerospace engineer.

Jean Wright– Former seamstress at NASA (Aerospace Composite Tech- Softgoods) for space shuttle.

Alyssa Young –Executive Director of the Deke Slayton Museum.


*List of presenters is subject to update/change without notice.