Mission, Board of Directors, Staff

Deke Slayton Museum Mission Statement

        The Deke Slayton Memorial Space and Bicycle Museum commemorates Sparta astronaut Deke Slayton and a “Progression of Transportation” through bicycles, aviation, and space exploration to connect people to knowledge, creativity, and inspiration.


Alyssa Young
Executive Director

Christy Litchfield
Administrative Assistant

Aaron Young
Visitor Services

Margie Spohn
Visitor Services

Stephanie Clark
Visitor Services

Board of Directors

Joanne Hagen

Nancy Sikorsky
Vice President

Russell Janzen

Margie Spohn

Laurel Brandt

Connie Jerome

Bill Paddy

Kaitlyn Paddy

Pete Perkins

Larry Scheckel

John Winkelmann

Ex Officio Members

Leslie Bakkum

Jo Ann Brandt

Joan Cook

Marie Grewal

Kathy Kuderer

Jim Shilling

Beth Slayton

Mary Slayton

Tyler Tripp

Marlene Wilhelm